Virginia's Private Dog Park In Charlottesville | Sniffspot
https://data.sniffspot.com/full-fit-in/768x512/Photos/Spots/56248/IMG_4393.1686094795490.jpeghttps://data.sniffspot.com/full-fit-in/768x512/Photos/Spots/56248/IMG_4394.1686094795487.jpeghttps://data.sniffspot.com/full-fit-in/768x512/Photos/Spots/56248/IMG_4395.1686094795484.jpeghttps://data.sniffspot.com/full-fit-in/768x512/Photos/Spots/56248/IMG_4396.1686094795734.jpeghttps://data.sniffspot.com/full-fit-in/768x512/Photos/Spots/56248/IMG_4397.1686094795488.jpeg-
invoice
5372 Windy Ridge Rd
CharlottesvilleVirginia22903US
4.630
15Good until my dog was attacked. It was my first time using sniffspot and I booked Saturday and Sunday for two hours each day (Sat 2-4 and Sun 1-3). Saturday was nice, my dog and I enjoyed the pool and the yard and he got to sunbathe so he was very happy. Sunday was going well until an hour and a half into my time slot, the back door opened and the host’s husband let their two dogs outside into the backyard. This prompted a fight, with one of their dogs attacking mine and biting him in the face. The only thing the owner said was “I didn’t know you were still here” and “I thought you had left” and I told him no, we booked for two full hours. He got the dogs and just went back inside, never asking if myself or my dog was okay. We left immediately, both shaken up and bleeding. Later, I received a message from Virginia just saying sorry, there was a miscommunication between husband and wife as to the time I was there. That was it. Again, not checking if we were okay or seeming to really care at all. This incident was easily preventable but based on their behavior after the fact, I wouldn’t trust them to not do this again in the future. I had been so excited to find sniffspot as it’s incredibly difficult to have to worry about other dogs on walks all the time and not ever being able to relax outside with my dog. I really thought this was the answer but unfortunately this incident has made me rethink the entire idea. I paid to be in what I thought was a safe space for my dog, and put trust in the system and the hosts to be responsible. I did everything I was supposed to on my end, and in the end, it did not matter. Overall, I am just so incredibly disappointed.
55Such a great Sniffspot! Parking is great and was the perfect spot for my boy 😊
55Such a lovely retreat! Our dogs had a great time swimming in the pool. Clean, beautiful and just a joy. Thank you!
55Our dog had the time of his life. He hasn’t had the opportunity to run wild for a couple months now and giving him that chance again was amazing. He ran laps after laps, we don’t like to go to traditional dog parks as he isn’t the best with other dogs so this being a option is awesome. We will definitely be back.
55Great spot with a pool!
55Great spot for swimming! The pool is very pet friendly with steps at either end. We had no issues finding the gate into the yard, it is behind a shrub. All around great experience.
45Very private. Entrance was obscured by the big bush, but fairly easily found. Pool was clean and pleasant. Grass was a little high. Nice outdoor furniture for relaxing.
55Our dog had a GREAT time swimming in the pool. Also, they did a great job of having their blinds down to make it feel more private from the homeowners and their pets. I know my dogs would personally bark up a storm if they knew their were strangers in the backyard - super thoughtful to have the blinds down. Will be returning for sure!
35The door is really right behind the bush. It little awkward to get to, but understandable. The dogs liked it, but they craved shade. Their 1st adventure, so not bad.
55This is my dog (which if course makes it mine also) dream retirement yard. The pool has 2 sets of stairs at perfect heights to lay down when he started getting tired, plenty of grass, perfect fencing, everything was perfect. And it was a hot day so the umbrella and couch for the adults was much appreciated! We will definitely be back and considering buying a membership just for this place! Parking was a bit unclear but we parked on the street / grass and it seemed to be fine (but please let me know if that was wrong for next time!).
Sniffspotsupport@sniffspot.comUnited States
David AdamsFounder
  1. Home
  2. All dog parks
  3. Virginia
  4. Charlottesville
  5. Virginia's Private Dog Park In Charlottesville

Virginia's Private Dog Park In Charlottesville

Charlottesville, Virginia
Fully Fenced
0.5 acres
4.630 reviews
Sniffpass
Hosted by Virginia C.

Fencing

Enclosure

Fully Fenced

Fencing height (at lowest point)

4 ft

100% of guests said fencing at this spot was secure enough to contain their dogs

Gaps or holes in fence: No gaps

Fencing type(s): Wood - non-privacy

Fencing details: The pool cover can be walked on by dogs but not people please.


Designed for private play
Only the people and dogs in your booking are allowed in the spot during your visit.

Distractions seen/heard from the spot

Other dogsSometimes

Other domestic animalsSometimes

Other peopleSometimes


Amenities

Dog drinking water

Chairs

Rain shelter / sun shade

Water - mister

Water - hose

Fertilizer-free


Pricing
$12 per dog per hour

50% off all dogs after the 1st dog

25% off hourly price for 30 min visit

Sniffpass holders get discounts on all bookings at all spots by buying monthly credits!
This spot offers additional discounts.

Learn more

Location

Charlottesville, Virginia

Description

Don’t forget to add the extra for access to the pool.

Cleanliness

86% of guests said this spot was as clean as expected during their visit.

Host Rules

Minimum visit length
30 minutes
Max dogs per booking
20

Community safety rules
Dogs must be leashed when entering and exiting the spot.
Make sure the area is safe and secure before bringing your dog in.
Never enter a spot before your booking start time and never leave late.
Pick up after your dogs. Leave the spot as it was when you arrived.
Always review and abide by spot specific rules.
Unless otherwise stated, restrooms are not available on site.

Booking Policies

Booking Policies
Only one booking is allowed at a time at any spot and there is an enforced 30 min buffer between all bookings to ensure dogs in separate bookings do not meet.
This spot is set for Booking, which means you will be instantly confirmed for any booking you request. You will receive the address and access instruction immediately following booking.
Visits can be moved or cancelled up to 2 hours before a visit.
Visits can be extended and dogs can be added throughout the visit.

(30) Reviews

  • Stacey C., Aug 28, 2023

    Good until my dog was attacked. It was my first time using sniffspot and I booked Saturday and Sunday for two hours each day (Sat 2-4 and Sun 1-3). Saturday was nice, my dog and I enjoyed the pool and the yard and he got to sunbathe so he was very happy. Sunday was going well until an hour and a half into my time slot, the back door opened and the host’s husband let their two dogs outside into the backyard. This prompted a fight, with one of their dogs attacking mine and biting him in the face. The only thing the owner said was “I didn’t know you were still here” and “I thought you had left” and I told him no, we booked for two full hours. He got the dogs and just went back inside, never asking if myself or my dog was okay. We left immediately, both shaken up and bleeding. Later, I received a message from Virginia just saying sorry, there was a miscommunication between husband and wife as to the time I was there. That was it. Again, not checking if we were okay or seeming to really care at all. This incident was easily preventable but based on their behavior after the fact, I wouldn’t trust them to not do this again in the future. I had been so excited to find sniffspot as it’s incredibly difficult to have to worry about other dogs on walks all the time and not ever being able to relax outside with my dog. I really thought this was the answer but unfortunately this incident has made me rethink the entire idea. I paid to be in what I thought was a safe space for my dog, and put trust in the system and the hosts to be responsible. I did everything I was supposed to on my end, and in the end, it did not matter. Overall, I am just so incredibly disappointed.

    Host replied: We are sorry for the unfortunate event and completely understand how upsetting this was when you had come to relax. We have taken additional steps in communicating when we have guests using the back yard so that this will not happen again. We are sorry to hear about any injury to your dog and wish you had let us know sooner instead of well after the fact and not directly. We would have been able to help further had you replied to any of our messages. My husband did ask if you were ok but perhaps it was too difficult to hear in such a stressful situation. If something like this happens at a different location please communicate with the host as we had no idea there was an injury and so had no method of making amends.

  • Melissa E., Aug 20, 2023

    Such a great Sniffspot! Parking is great and was the perfect spot for my boy 😊

  • Isabelle G., Aug 19, 2023

    Such a lovely retreat! Our dogs had a great time swimming in the pool. Clean, beautiful and just a joy. Thank you!

  • Ceara C., Aug 15, 2023

    Our dog had the time of his life. He hasn’t had the opportunity to run wild for a couple months now and giving him that chance again was amazing. He ran laps after laps, we don’t like to go to traditional dog parks as he isn’t the best with other dogs so this being a option is awesome. We will definitely be back.

    Host replied: We are so glad he enjoyed himself.

  • Robin K., Aug 13, 2023

    Great spot with a pool!

  • Nicole S., Aug 13, 2023

    Great spot for swimming! The pool is very pet friendly with steps at either end. We had no issues finding the gate into the yard, it is behind a shrub. All around great experience.

  • David M., Aug 12, 2023

    Very private. Entrance was obscured by the big bush, but fairly easily found. Pool was clean and pleasant. Grass was a little high. Nice outdoor furniture for relaxing.

  • Shannon K., Aug 2, 2023

    Our dog had a GREAT time swimming in the pool. Also, they did a great job of having their blinds down to make it feel more private from the homeowners and their pets. I know my dogs would personally bark up a storm if they knew their were strangers in the backyard - super thoughtful to have the blinds down. Will be returning for sure!

    Host replied: Oh thank you so much and we are so glad you enjoyed your visit. Yep, we keep the blinds down so you and your dogs can focus on each other.

  • Bonnie L., Jul 31, 2023

    The door is really right behind the bush. It little awkward to get to, but understandable. The dogs liked it, but they craved shade. Their 1st adventure, so not bad.

    Host replied: Huskys will definitely crave shade during the summer heat. Sorry your introduction to your friends’ dog didn’t go as well as you would have hoped. Glad your human family enjoyed the pool.

  • Ceara R., Jul 23, 2023

    This is my dog (which if course makes it mine also) dream retirement yard. The pool has 2 sets of stairs at perfect heights to lay down when he started getting tired, plenty of grass, perfect fencing, everything was perfect. And it was a hot day so the umbrella and couch for the adults was much appreciated! We will definitely be back and considering buying a membership just for this place! Parking was a bit unclear but we parked on the street / grass and it seemed to be fine (but please let me know if that was wrong for next time!).

    Host replied: Glad you had such a great time and we look forward to having you back.

Meet your host

Virginia C.

Joined in June 2023


Other spots nearby
Enjoy our Fully Fenced Private Backyard Oasis In Crozet

Hello! My name is Katie and we are so excited to offer our yard space to your furry best friend. My family has lived in an apartment the last two years while house hunting in Crozet, and we have learned how difficult it is to have dogs without access to a yard. Now that we are settling into our new home, we are excited to offer our space for afternoon fetch, morning zoomies, and just lounging in the sunshine. Animals just make the world a better place. You will always have complimentary access to our hammock and swing gazebo. Please refrain from using the kids play equipment! Come enjoy some nature time in our yard in Crozet. :) Arrival Notes: When you arrive you can park anywhere on our gravel driveway. The gate to the right of the house that goes into our garden is where you will enter. This “holding” area in the garden gives you a chance to triple check there are no lingering guests or animals in the yard. Once you are in our backyard please shut the gate behind you. Most guests enjoy hanging out in the firepit area where there are hammock swings and seating. Along the fence, you will see a spot for water, toys, and other things I thought you may need. We ask that guests not utilize our small deck near the house, so that our dogs don’t bark and disturb their stay! So far all of our guests have come a second time, so if you end up booking again, I’d love any feedback on how to make your visit extra special. Anyway, that is all for now, thanks again and enjoy the sunshine!! ~Katie

Fully Fenced
0.5 acres
5(9)
$15 dog / hour
Crozet, VA
Other spots nearby
Enjoy our Fully Fenced Private Backyard Oasis In Crozet

Hello! My name is Katie and we are so excited to offer our yard space to your furry best friend. My family has lived in an apartment the last two years while house hunting in Crozet, and we have learned how difficult it is to have dogs without access to a yard. Now that we are settling into our new home, we are excited to offer our space for afternoon fetch, morning zoomies, and just lounging in the sunshine. Animals just make the world a better place. You will always have complimentary access to our hammock and swing gazebo. Please refrain from using the kids play equipment! Come enjoy some nature time in our yard in Crozet. :) Arrival Notes: When you arrive you can park anywhere on our gravel driveway. The gate to the right of the house that goes into our garden is where you will enter. This “holding” area in the garden gives you a chance to triple check there are no lingering guests or animals in the yard. Once you are in our backyard please shut the gate behind you. Most guests enjoy hanging out in the firepit area where there are hammock swings and seating. Along the fence, you will see a spot for water, toys, and other things I thought you may need. We ask that guests not utilize our small deck near the house, so that our dogs don’t bark and disturb their stay! So far all of our guests have come a second time, so if you end up booking again, I’d love any feedback on how to make your visit extra special. Anyway, that is all for now, thanks again and enjoy the sunshine!! ~Katie

Fully Fenced
0.5 acres
5(9)
$15 dog / hour
Crozet, VA

Virginia's Private Dog Park In Charlottesville

$12 per dog per hour
4.6
(30)
$12 per dog per hour

Book this spot!

$12 per dog per hour
4.6
(30)